Reviews

9.0
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
8.3
Property location
9.6
Facilities
8.4
Staff
9.5
Value
8.9

Reviews

    Charles
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    16 April 2018
    Only drawback was the unreliable Wi-Fi
    Extremely friendly and helpful manager who made the stay very pleasant and offered good recommendations. Excellent location for exploring inside the main walls of Óbidos. Also enjoyed the simple breakfast. Would recommend and stay again.
    Diana
    il

    Review score

    10
    15 April 2018

    Romantic, quiet a nice trip back in time!

    Beatiful restored house, feels like traveling back in time, very vintage in a very positive way. great hospitality, with a warm welcome by the owners granson with a complimentary home made cherry liquor and explanation about the history of the house. Best and quiet location, just next to the city entrance. Easy parking. Clean room, great bed, room had all the amenities we needed.
    Happy Couple
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    14 April 2018

    Remembering good times

    Were a bit confused by the heating: it is definitely working, but the timing was not syncronised with us. Radiators were hot when we arrived early in the evening, but cold when we came back from dinner and went to bed.
    The entrance to the old town is just 10m away; several nice restaurants and bars are also very close (no problem with noise at night though). Perfect to explore the surroundings. The owner was very friendly, genuinely willing to help; told us a bit about the history of his family, their ginga, and this great building. In the morning you wake up to enjoy freshly baked bread (!), accompanied by other simple, but nice, things of the Continental breakfast (biscuits included). Overall, we had a good time!
    alan
    my

    Review score

    8.8
    4 April 2018

    Superb

    Rooms were a bit small
    Very charming
    SEL
    gr

    Review score

    9.6
    1 April 2018
    The room smelled like mold but not somethimg you can't handle it!
    Juan was very kind and helpful! Perfect location, 1 min walk to everything.
    Mark
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    10 November 2017

    Great location for all this lovely town has to offer.

    Whilst we booked the apartment room facilities are not suitable for anybody wanting to self cater.
    Location. Rustic accommodation. Helpful owner.
    shihyu
    tw

    Review score

    8.8
    1 November 2017
    Nice host and staffs, they are really kind to help us about the traveling information. It will be a good choice to stay for a night at Obidos! highly recommended!
    Daniel
    ch

    Review score

    8.3
    30 October 2017

    Very friendly staff, location near the old town

    Alan
    gb

    Review score

    7.0
    21 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Lu
    us

    Review score

    10
    16 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    16 October 2017
    Staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to ensure my stay was a enjoyable.
    strome
    nl

    Review score

    10
    15 October 2017

    Very nice stay at lovely house!

    humidity (owner gave us dehumidifier), our room was a little small (but i also saw bigger rooms available)
    Historical house, amazing welcoming, you immediately feel welcome, since it is a family business with great service. The house has a beautiful old-looking interior. Amazing location, right next to the old walls of Obidos. Free parking outside villa.
    ca

    Review score

    8.8
    14 October 2017

    I would go back.

    The breakfeast was very good and the service was great.
    Charles
    us

    Review score

    10
    10 October 2017

    Perfect location for lovely Obidos!

    nothing
    You can not book a better place to stay when visiting Obidos (and Obidos is a must when visiting Portugal!). Joao runs this casa for his parents and makes sure to great each guest with a glass of ginjinha and very helpful information. The casa is located just steps from one of the original entrances through the wall surrounding the town. Parking is easy on the street by the casa. Be sure to have dinner at Jamon Jamon taberna (fantastic!) and if you are planning to purchase any cork purses while in Portugal, do so in Obidos as they were the least expensive we saw throughout our travels; unfortunately for us, we did not realize that at the time.
    Zinovy
    il

    Review score

    8.3
    3 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Catherine
    nz

    Review score

    9.6
    3 October 2017

    Enjoyable

    Great location
    Brian
    pt

    Review score

    7.9
    27 September 2017

    Taken back in history

    Everything was as expected
    Good breakfast,wy_if and very close to good restaurants. You are only a few steps outside the medival walled village. Excellent reception by staff. Very helpful .
    Kate
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    25 September 2017

    Lovely guest house right next to the town entrance

    Bathroom a little dated and no fan so gets steamed up, but lovely powerful hot shower.
    Authentic Portugese guest house, lovely old feel to the property and lots of interesting antiques to look at it! Staff very friendly and helpful.
    Linda
    ca

    Review score

    9.2
    25 September 2017

    It was a relaxing and homely stay at Casa do Fontainero

    Nothing really, except that the location of the hotel is not in the heart of the town center and without the GPS, locating the property might take longer time.
    The property has a very homely, local feel, especially it is a family run property. John, the grandson of the owner, was very friendly, helpful and efficient. He even parked our car for us as the parking area right behind the hotel was pretty tight. Our rooms were clean and spacious and the breakfast was delicious too.
    Russell
    nz

    Review score

    9.2
    23 September 2017

    A quite space to relax in after a walk around the walls of Obidos

    This hotel was so handy to Obidos being just outside the walls. John and his Grandmother made us very welcomed and John gave us good advise when asked for. The breakfast was typical european, but for us colonials, some muesli would have been nice with the yogurt. Otherwise quite and relaxing.
Loading reviews